Noble Illustrations Process and Musings

Illustrations of Kathryn Ault Noble

Day Fifteen PiBoIdMo and SkAdaMo

SkAdaMo

As I mentioned previously, I enjoy putting down the wash first to get the basic shapes, then add the ink detailing over the top. I think it keeps my work fresher and stops me for overworking the detail.

Here is the piece painted with the base wash, cut out, and photographed then taken into Photoshop for some colorizing:

IMG_7934bflat5

Picking Sour Grapes?

I can work faster when I start with the washes, and the process is more fun for me.

This is what the piece looked like when I painted it, before it went into Photoshop:

IMG_7934red

Yesterday’s prompt for Doodle Day was FOX, and today’s is GIRAFFE, so I better get busy to finish the giraffe.

7 comments on “Day Fifteen PiBoIdMo and SkAdaMo

  1. Theartof Puro
    November 16, 2013

    Interesting process:)

    • Kathryn Ault Noble
      November 18, 2013

      Thanks, Monica! I taught Photoshop so many years, I just think that way now. All I have to do is paint in the black and white values, then colorize it in Photoshop.

  2. Bobbie Dacus
    November 16, 2013

    Wow! Lovely!

  3. julie rowan zoch
    November 16, 2013

    So cool!

Leave a Reply

SCBWI

SkAdaMo 2012 Winner Badge

SkAdaMo 2013

SkAdaMo 2012

HoHoDoDa 2013

PiBoIdMo Winner 2013

PiBoIdMo 2013

PiBoIdMo 2012

PiBoIdMo Winner 2012

12 x 12 2011

Jacket Flap

Illustration Friday

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

