Noble Illustrations Process and Musings

Illustrations of Kathryn Ault Noble

Day Thirteen of PiBoIdMo and SkAdaMo

SkAdaMo

So this is a sketch in pencil instead of ink and color ink washes. I’ve been aiming to work entirely in ink since Inktober started, which of course is good practice. But this afternoon the sun was streaming into the studio and I just needed to do some pencil noodling. I think I have the frilly lady out of my system now. . .I’m going back to animals!

frilly-lady-arches-4

4 comments on “Day Thirteen of PiBoIdMo and SkAdaMo

  1. Theartof Puro
    November 14, 2013

    Love the details:)

    • Kathryn Ault Noble
      November 14, 2013

      Thanks, Monica! Sometimes I lose site of the forest while decorating one tree. I’m working at having the overall shape be more interesting before I put on my magnifying glasses to doodle. It is so easy to make that mistake with digital media. . . zooming in to a tiny area and painting with a one pixel brush. Yeah, I did that too many times before I realized no one could see it unless they had the original high res file and could zoom in, too!

  2. sketched out
    November 14, 2013

    I totally understand what you’re saying, but I also love your details. Some people hide in the details, but yours really enhance!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2013 by in Art and tagged , , , , .

SCBWI

SkAdaMo 2012 Winner Badge

SkAdaMo 2013

SkAdaMo 2012

HoHoDoDa 2013

PiBoIdMo Winner 2013

PiBoIdMo 2013

PiBoIdMo 2012

PiBoIdMo Winner 2012

12 x 12 2011

Jacket Flap

Illustration Friday

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

