Noble Illustrations Process and Musings

Illustrations of Kathryn Ault Noble

Doodle Day May in July

3-19-face-72Back by popular demand Alison Kipnis Hertz is hosting another month of Doodle mania! And in my excitement I volunteered to come up with one of the daily doodle prompts. So what did I choose?

HAIR, GLORIOUS HAIR!

Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair
Flow it, show it
Long as God can grow it
My hair
I want it long, straight, curly, fuzzy
Snaggy, shaggy, ratty, matty
Oily, greasy, fleecy
Shining, gleaming, steaming
Flaxen, waxen
Knotted, polka-dotted
Twisted, beaded, braided
Powdered, flowered, and confettied
Bangled, tangled, spangled, and spaghettied!

Now, for some great inspiration, I think you will enjoy this tutorial from one of my former students, Xia Taptara. He has created so many tutorials it is hard to know where to start, but let’s take a look at hair first:

http://idrawgirls.com/tutorials/2011/10/21/how-to-draw-hair/

“Once you get it to simplify into simple shapes, you will have a lot easier time drawing hair. I explain it in the Video tutorial that break hair down into big simple shape for each clump of hair. One you can break it down in to simple 5-6 group of hair, you then have to look for shadow of the those shapes.”

Xia Taptara (黃曉聲 Huang XiaoShēng), currently a freelance concept artist for games and films, formerly a character concept artist for ArenaNet/NCsoft (GuildWars & Guildwars 2). I also work on various projects for Game of Thrones, Square-Enix, Paizo Publishing, Fantasy Fight Games, Disney Interactive, and many publishers & clients.

When I think of drawing hair the art nouveau artists, such as Aubrey BeardsleyRene Lalique, and Alphonse Mucha immediately come to mind. Personally I believe that anyone who practices making perfect “nouveau” style lines will be easily able to draw stylized and beautiful hair.

This has nothing to do with hair, but the doodle quality of this book was hard to pass up.  My First Kafka: Runaways, Rodents, and Giant Bugs 

I think I picked hair because I don’t think I’ve ever truly drawn a nice head of hair, and things that are elusive always challenge me. So to get the ball rolling, I thought I would post some of my doodles from May that had hair of any kind. Because of the nature of doodles, I enjoyed a variety of styles, from pencil to ink, but all were done with real media on paper instead of my usual digital work. So without further ado, I present some doodles with hair.

5-16-DDMheartheads-copy

5-19-DDM-fruitc-flat

blank-paper

doodle-hats

new-scans-1-c

6 comments on “Doodle Day May in July

  1. teresarobeson
    July 20, 2013

    These are amazing doodles! now I fear I will never be able to so it because I’m intimidated. ;)

  2. Catherine Johnson
    July 20, 2013

    Great idea, hair is so hard to draw. Thanks for the tutorial link too. Great post!

  3. Alison Kipnis Hertz
    July 20, 2013

    Great prompt! Thanks for teaching us about drawing hair, Kathryn.

  4. Pingback: Doodle Day Hair – Rihanna | Catherine Johnson

  5. julie rowan zoch
    July 20, 2013

    Spaghettied! Hahahahaha! May take me all day, but the prompt is great!

  6. Pingback: Doodle Day: 07/20/2013 — Hair - WinsomeWays Illustration Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2013 by in Art and tagged , , , , .

SCBWI

SkAdaMo 2012

SkAdaMo 2012 Winner Badge

SkAdaMo 2013

HoHoDoDa 2013

PiBoIdMo 2013

PiBoIdMo Winner 2013

PiBoIdMo 2012

PiBoIdMo Winner 2012

12 x 12 2011

Jacket Flap

Illustration Friday

2014 SCBWI Summer Conference LA Mentorship Award Winner

2014 Mentor Award “Mentees” Blog

SkADaMo 2014

PiBoIdMo 2014

PiBoIdMo 2014 Winner!

Picture Book Month 2014

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

